Skip to content

gendered language

April 16, 2013

My old friend Jams O’Donnell asks, a propos of my last post, in which I said I’d only ever heard women use the expression ‘to die for’, whether there are any other phrases used by only one sex; and offers ‘Well done you!’ and ‘Ah, bless!’ as expressions only a woman would use. I agree with that, and would add ‘Poor you!’ and ‘I could get used to this!’ (said when enjoying some unaccustomed luxury) as women-only expressions.

But I can’t at the moment think of any expressions used only by men. Although I’m sure there must be plenty. Any suggestions? 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. May I offer up the word “Dude” as masculine?

  2. david cato permalink

    what about we hate millwall and we hate millwall, we hate millwall and we hate millwall, we hate millwall and we hate millwall, we are the millwall haters

Leave a Reply

