Skip to content

A Vowel Shift (II)

June 18, 2014

Vowel shift update: I was at a meeting yesterday and one of the speakers there possessed par excellence the new, vowel-shifted accent of posh young women of the Home Counties that I referred to in an earlier post (A Vowel Shift?). I noted down the way she pronounced the sentence, “It’s just a notebook”. From her lips, this came out as: “It’s jast a natebik.” Say it quickly and naturally without lingering on the vowels and you’ll see what I mean. (Of course my phonetic spelling relies on the old values of the vowels.)

I’ll keep you posted with any further observations of this phenomenon.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

