Skip to content

How do you pronounce ‘soughing’?

December 12, 2015

“Soughing” is a lovely word. It means the sighing, moaning, whispering sound made by the wind in the trees or long grass. But it’s one of those literary words that you only ever encounter in print, and so although I’ve read it many times I’ve never heard it being said. I have used it myself in a short story. But if I had to read the story aloud I’d be embarrassed when I got to that bit; I wouldn’t know how to pronounce it. I therefore recently decided to look it up on the internet.

Result? In American English it’s pronounced suffing, while in British English it’s sowing (rhymes with ploughing – or plowing if you are American).

At least that’s how it would be pronounced in American and British English, if anyone ever actually said it.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

