Skip to content

POEM OF CLICHÉS

July 9, 2016

I thought I’d have a go at a poem made up entirely of literary clichés. This is my first attempt. It’s rather short and slight but I consider that it has an atmosphere all its own. No doubt there are plenty of other good clichés that failed to occur to me; let me know of any I’ve missed and perhaps together we can turn this into an epic. But here is the draft so far:

 

POEM OF CLICHÉ

Crows cawed in the bare trees

as the coffin was lowered into the ground.

Somewhere, a dog barked.

As my eyes became accustomed to the gloom

I took the stairs two at a time

with surprising nimbleness

for so bulky a man.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Poem of murder cliche

    She lay unnaturally still,
    Doe-like eyes wide open
    As if in surprise,
    Swan-like neck
    Perfect save for
    The thin trickle of blood
    Marring the alabaster skin.
    He smiled without humour,
    Laughed grimly,
    Fear tracing a finger down his spine.
    “We’ve got another one,” he grimaced.

Leave a Reply

